Last of the summer sewing: A Cambie

As I’m writing this, it is pretty cold outside (the heating’s on). But, three weeks ago, it was still really warm, and I got really cranky with myself that I hadn’t made myself a summer dress. I got cranky enough to actually make the Cambie, in one day: Make it Saturday, wear it Sunday.

It’s actually also another first for me – my first transformed bedsheet! (For bedsheet transformation inspiration, see Cation Designs). I bought the ‘fabric’ as a bedsheet for I think 4 pounds in Oxfam, Hammersmith. I’m pretty sure it’s cotton, and I just really liked the print – in particular the fact it had a boundary with a slightly different print, which I totally wanted for the hem.

So, without further ado, here it is:

Cambie dress!

Cambie dress! And er, yes, while I made it while it was warm, the pictures were taken when it was raining and cold. No chance of going outside.

I made a straight size 8, with an extra half-inch lengthening the upper body. It’s a touch too big in the bust, so I think the next one will be slightly smaller (as Ela pointed out to me, maybe I should have gone with my upper bust size. oh well!). Time for the most cushiony bra I own… Apart from this, I really love the dress, and the way it falls.

The fabric only threw up one problem – the grainline had pulled out of shape a bit, and some bits stretched out. You can see in this shot that I had to ease the fabric into the zip, and it’s a little crinkly.

Wrinkly zipper, lovely dress

Wrinkly zipper, lovely dress

But, as I said, I still love it to bits – it was great fun to make, and I loved the construction; now I love the little details like the sleeves. It is also, I think my neatest invisible zip today, especially the top corners. And the waistband matches up. Yay! Beyond this, it makes me feel very girly and effortlessly well-dressed, so I’ll definitely want more of these. For now, though, I’ve definitely moved on to autumn sewing here.

As the dress was sewn late in the summer, and I already had half an eye on autumn, I interlined the skirt lining with silk-cotton so I can make it transition into autumn. Now the only challenge is to get myself a cardigan/jumper I can wear with this dress – all mine end just above my hips, which is way too long for this. So I have my eyes on the Miette cardigan – especially after Rachel inspired me at the London meet-up, and let me try hers on for size (just perfect). Watch this space!

The way the dress makes me feel. Definitely a good thing!

The way the dress makes me feel. Definitely a good thing!

3 thoughts on “Last of the summer sewing: A Cambie

  1. Your cambie looks super cute! And I can’t tell that it is made from a bed sheet. And yep, for fitting the bust I can only recommend taking your high bust measurement to choose the right size pattern. From the photos it is not that obvious that the dress is too big at the bust. But maybe that gives you the opportunity to wear the dress with a thin jumper underneath in autumn 🙂

  2. This looks lovely! Ahhh the magic of a good bedsheet. I don’t think the back looks bad at all, barely notice any warping of the fabric. All looks great. Stay warm 🙂

Leave a Reply

