Completed: The ‘Look, it’s not a Sewaholic!’ Miette Skirt

I finally, having downloaded it ages ago, made myself a Miette skirt from Tilly and the Buttons. I downloaded the pattern particularly for a fabric which one of my most-lovely-friends-ever had given me. It’s an amazingly blue-brown-golden batiked cotton from Indonesia which is amazing up-close – really really detailed – and I wanted a pattern that would enable the pattern to be almost undisturbed (sorry, unironed pictures!):

Lots of really small patterns…

Spot the birds hiding in the pattern and the many different small patterns in the fabric!

 

The Miette fit the bill, being simple, but cute. The only change I made was to cut the front piece on the fold, instead of seaming it together, to keep the pattern in one piece. Beyond that, there’s not much to say – it’s nice, it’s cute, it was superquick. The fabric pressed really nicely and was a joy to work with, and I love the result. The only change I would make in the future would be to cut a larger size – I cut this skirt based on my waist size, but when I wore the skirt for the first time, I realized I don’t really like wearing a high-waisted tie-skirt, because I don’t like tucking shirts in. And if I don’t tuck in, then the bow stands out, and the shirt looks funny because of the bow underneath, and… you get the idea. I can still wear this lower on my hips (like in the photo below), no problem, but the seams are slightly in the wrong place. Still: no danger of flashage even when worn lower – very well-designed, and I’m fairly certain there’ll be more of this skirt at some point!

Miette Skirt - sadly, not our garden! It was actually the first day I wore a skirt and no tights. :-)

Miette Skirt – sadly, not our garden! It was actually the first day I wore a skirt and no tights. 🙂

In other news, the British summer has crept up on my, and beyond the Miette, I have yet to make any summer clothes. If I don’t hurry up, the nice weather will be gone by the time I have any, so before the weekend, I’m aiming to get my sewing skates on, and cut a skirt and t-shirt today. Wish me luck!

How is your seasonal sewing going? Are you ill-prepared like me?

4 thoughts on “Completed: The ‘Look, it’s not a Sewaholic!’ Miette Skirt

    • Thanks! It was really interesting to see the photos, and what the print looks like from a bit further away actually. I didn’t think the big pattern pieces would look so different!

Leave a Reply

